Modell av tempelhøgda

Tempelhøgda i Jerusalem er viktig både i historisk og aktuelt perspektiv. Eg blir derfor interessert når eg les at ein gamal og interessant modell av tempelhøgda nå er utstilt i Christ Church, sentralt i Gamlebyen i Jerusalem.

Modellen, som er fire meter lang og tre meter brei, blei laga på 1800-talet av arkeologen Conrad Schick, ein av pionerane i arbeidet med Jerusalems arkeologi. Han kunne på den tida undersøkja delar av området som ikkje er tilgjengelege i dag.

Sjå bilete av modellen her: Friends of Conrad Schick

Haaretz skriv om saka:

Tiny model of Temple Mount returns to Jerusalem
140-year-old model on display near Jerusalem’s Jaffa Gate, after spending 138 in Basel, Switzerland.

(…) That’s because since Sunday, Christ Church has been displaying a model of the contentious sacred mount. The work has returned home after nearly a century and a half in Switzerland. (…)

“Every time they dug a hole in the Temple Mount, he ran there to examine it,” said Prof. Haim Goren of Tel Hai Academic College, an expert on Schick’s work. (…)

Like many of Schick’s models, this one had dozens of parts that could be dismantled to show inner, underground areas.

“It’s not only beautiful, it’s also an important research tool, because it was built by a man who visited every pit and understood the topography in a way we can’t fathom,” Gibson said.

Les meir

Eg er ikkje i tvil; neste gong eg er i Jerusalem veit eg kvar eg skal gå!

(via PaleoJudaica)

Legg att eit svar

